Shaolin Kung Fu Training Program

With our systematic syllabus you can advance from building a solid foundation to a high level of combat efficiency using internal force and traditional techniques spontaneously.

After completing all twelve levels, you can call yourself a “Shaolin Wahnam Kung Fu Practitioner“, which means you’re a complete Kung Fu exponent.

But this is not the end, it’s only the beginning. There are tons of classical sets and specialized skills to learn and master in our treasure chest later on.

Every level takes care of the four dimensions holistic Kung Fu training should include:

  • Form
  • Force / Skill
  • Application
  • Philosophy


Here’s our syllabus in a nutshell:

The first two levels cover fundamentals such as stances, footwork, as well as basic techniques, energy training and principles.

Levels 3 to 6 form the core of our combat training. By learning our 16 basic combat sequences you progress from handling various hand attacks, to kicks, felling and Chin-Na (special ways to grip or lock) by applying classical Kung Fu patterns in a profound and spontaneous manner.

Level 7 focuses on the classical set “Cross-Roads at Four Gates”, which was taught as the basic set at the Southern Shaolin temple.

Although it is quite unlikely that you’ll get into a sword fight nowadays, your Kung Fu training wouldn’t be complete without training classical weapons. Hence the staff and the sabre are covered in levels 8 and 9, while level 10 focuses on disarming an opponent.

While many people regard combat against multiple opponents very advanced, it is part of our basic syllabus, progressing from unarmed combat in level 11 to armed in level 12.


The following list gives you an overview of the material to be learnt at each level in a concise manner. Don’t be puzzled if you can’t understand all the details, which requires a certain level of initiation. This syllabus is meant to remind initiated students what they have learnt or will learn.


Level 1: Fundamentals of Shaolin Kungfu

Form: Basic patterns, stances and footwork.

Application: Specific Techniques.

Force: Zhang Zhuang (basic stances), One Finger Shoot Zen, Leg Stretching.

Philosophy: Dimensions, aims and brief history.


  • 8 basic patterns of hand attack and defence.
  • Basic stances — Horse-Riding, Bow-Arrow, False-Leg, Single-Leg, Unicorn, Goat.
  • Footwork — forward, backward and sideways.
  • Specific Techniques against simple punches, kicks, holds on wrist, and throws from standing position. Use “Single Tiger” against punches, “Taming a Tiger with a String of Beads” against kicks, “Rolling thunder” against holds on wrist, shifting step against throws.

Level 1 is covered in the 6-month online course "The Entrance to the Chamber of Shaolin Kung Fu".

After completing this basic (though profound) course you can advance to the further levels.

Level 2: Lohan Asks the Way

Form: Basic set — Lohan Asks the Way.

Application: 4 basic hand attacks and defence from poise patterns.

Force: Zhang Zhuang with hand forms, Spacing, Timing, Breath Co-ordination.

Philosophy: Principles of Attack and Defence.


  • Sparring mode— pre-choice and self-choice.
  • Principles — Three Arrivals, Ask the Way, Safety First.

Level 3: Black Tiger Steals Heart

Form: Application Set 1 — Black Tiger Steals Heart.

Application: Hand attacks in three-step sequences.

Force: Flow of movement, Quick decision making, Instant modification.

Philosophy: Principles of Force Training.


  • Sparring mode — changing patterns.
  • Principles — Gradual Progress, Perseverance, Techniques and Skills.

Shaolin Kung Fu Application

Level 4: Fierce Tiger Speeds Across Valley

Form: Application Set 2 — Fierce Tiger Speeds through Valley, Patterns for kicks and defence.

Application: Further hand attacks in three-step sequences, One-step kicking attacks and defence.

Force: Leg-Stretching Exercises.

Philosophy: Techniques, Tactics and Strategies.


  • Sparring mode — left or right, run-on sequence.
  • Principles — Soft against hard, Exploiting opponent's weakness, Avoiding his strong points.

Level 5: Happy Bird Hops up Branch

Form: Application Set 3 — Happy Bird Hops up Branch.

Application: Combat sequences with kicking attacks.

Force: Breath Co-ordination.

Philosophy: Use of Tactics.


  • Tactics — Feign weakness, Pressing attack, Breaking opponent's momentum.

Level 6: Felling Tree with Roots

Form: Application Set 4 — Felling Tree with Roots.

Application: Combat sequences with holds and falls.

Force: Elegance and Speed.

Philosophy: Use of Strategies.


  • Strategies based on “Know Thyself, Know your Opponent”.

Level 7: Cross-Roads at Four Gates

Form: Cross-Roads at Four Gates

Application: Combination Set of Four Gates.

Force: Solo performance as well as sparring with picture-perfect form, force, speed but without panting.

Philosophy: Different levels of combat.


  • “Cross-Roads at Four Gates” is a treasure of Shaolin Kungfu, enabling us to experience profundity in simplicity.

Level 8: Shaolin Staff

Form: Flowing Water Staff.

Application: Against staff and other weapons.

Force: Hit, Thrust, and Eye sight training.

Philosophy: Principles of weapon combat.


  • Safety, certainty and decisiveness, Avoiding strength and attacking weakness.

Shaolin Kung Fu Staff Combat

Level 9: Shaolin Sabre

Form: Plum Flower Single Sabre.

Application: Against sabre, spear and other weapons.

Force: Accuracy and “sabre force” to cut an apple or any suitable object for testing.

Philosophy: Characteristics of major weapons.


  • Major weapons — staff, sabre, spear, sword, dagger, Big Knife, trident, soft whip.

Level 10: Unarmed against Armed

Form: Empty Hands Enter White Blade.

Application: Unarmed against dagger, staff and sabre.

Force: Countering feign moves.

Philosophy: The principles and practice of Apparent and Real.


  • “Over Bridge, Flow with Water”.

Level 11: Single Unarmed against Multiple Unarmed

Form: Tiger Enters Herd of Sheep.

Application: Single unarmed against multiple unarmed.

Force: “Bamboo Man” or “Through the Woods”.

Philosophy: “Back-wall battle” and “Dodge-hit battle”.


  • Agility stamina and endurance.

Level 12: Single Unarmed and Armed against Multiple Armed

Form: Dodge Hit.

Application: Single unarmed and armed against multiple armed.

Force: Dodging skills and using enemy as shields.

Philosophy: “Catch the Leader First” and “Break Through the Weakest”.


  • Importance of mind and energy control.

Sign up for our Newsletter to stay up-to-date with future videos, courses and blog post now!

Receive invaluable information about the traditional Shaolin arts and special offers for our courses!

You can cancel your newsletter subscription at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link at the bottom of every newsletter. We will never sell your information, for any reason. For further details, please see our Privacy Policy.